Categories
Hidden history

Hidden history – reviews

All the reviews for the Hidden History in plain sight tour.

Reviews for the Hidden History in plain sight walk.

The walking tour was EXCELLENT

5.0 rating
September 20, 2020

The walking tour was EXCELLENT, probably the best one I’ve ever taken in any city. René didn’t take us to the obvious sights, but explained the Venetian history and architecture through more hidden sights and regular buildings that you usually just walk by. His depth of knowledge is incredible and you can tell it’s his profession and passion at the same time. Would recommend for anyone interested in history and stories off the beaten path!

Johanna

René is a very nice guy

5.0 rating
October 18, 2020

René is a very nice guy who certainly knows what he is doing. By showing small objects on the historic buildings and squares (e.g. antique graffiti that you normally would not notice) he explains the history and everyday life of Venice and the Venetians. He is very well structured (you can tell he is a trained historian) and puts everything he explains into the historic perspective. I do recommend a tour with him, especially if you want to go off the beaten track (e.g. the more residential areas of historic Venice). At the end of the tour René suggested a fantastic restaurant that we wouldn’t have found ourselves.

Philipp

Esperienza diversa dai soliti itinerari turistici

5.0 rating
October 17, 2020

Esperienza diversa dai soliti itinerari turistici. Tantissima storia e aneddoti interessanti su Venezia!”

Valeria

René was definitely knowledgeable of the area

5.0 rating
October 17, 2020

René was definitely knowledgeable of the area. He shared a lot of history that we would have missed. I appreciated the book you brought and used for illustration purposes for my younger children (and for me… haha). It was a nice start to our weekend trip.

Margaret

Rene’s tour was amazing

5.0 rating
October 12, 2020

Rene’s tour was amazing! It gave us a much deeper and richer appreciation for Venice and it’s history to see the “history in plain sight” that Rene pointed out to us! Plus this tour was so worth it, easily the best value for our money in Venice. Rene was relaxed and genuinely eager to share stories and bits of history with us. Recommend resting before bc it is a decent amount of standing and walking! The 2pm one is perfect bc you can go just as lunch spots close.

Neeharika

Es war eine besondere Geschichtstour

5.0 rating
October 9, 2020

Es war eine besondere Geschichtstour, die so viele Details gezeigt hat, die mir nie aufgefallen wären. Ich war beeindruckt von Renés Entdeckungslust und die offenbare Liebe und Begeisterung zu Venedig! Es war regelrecht ansteckend und hat Spaß gemacht! Durch seine Einblicke in diese besondere Stadt, konnten wir auch anschließend mit ganz anderen Augen beobachten und einen viel innigeren Zugang zu Venedig finden. Vielen Dank dafür!

Christin

René shares a lot of his tremendous knowledge about this city

5.0 rating
October 5, 2020

René shares a lot of his tremendous knowledge about this city and its past and what you can still see of it in today’s Venice, if you just take a really close look. We sure didn’t feel bored even for a second, the tour is just overall really well-designed and there’s hardly a corner in the city René doesn’t have an interesting fact or story up his sleeve about. After the tour we kept catching ourselves looking for little scratch marks that maybe weren’t left there by an uncivilized tourist as you might believe in the first instant.

Elena

Just spent a fascinating 2 hours in the company of Rene

5.0 rating
September 26, 2020

Just spent a fascinating 2 hours in the company of Rene. Super knowledgeable guy, great story-teller mixing historical details to current Venetian life.. We will look at Venice in a different light from now on. Thank you Rene..

Paul

Magnificent experience

5.0 rating
September 25, 2020

Magnificent experience: “We’ve been several times in Venice, but with Rene we saw and understood the hidden history and had a magnificent and individual experience, which was worth every penny. Our three hour tour was both exciting and interesting and went over in no time. Rene has an incredible knowledge about history in general and especially of Venetian history. He may not just answer ‘every’ question by telling dates and facts; instead he’ll start showing a salty stone or a hidden graffiti and explaining from there on links between history and today.

Felix

This was a fascinating tour

5.0 rating
September 25, 2020

This was a fascinating tour, Rene is extremely knowledgeable. It was quite long (3 hours) so be prepared, but every minute packed with interesting information which I’m sure you couldn’t get elsewhere. Rene’s English is excellent too.

Jo

It was the best thing we did in Venice

5.0 rating
September 22, 2020

It was the best thing we did in Venice. We booked the tour on our first full day and afterwards, the insight we learned from Rene were used throughout our 4 days vacation. I’m a history nerd and his account and survey of Venice were accurate. Moreover, Rene was very passionate and his encyclopedic and street knowledge makes him an excellent companion to walk around this amazing city.

Michele

Excellent tour. Highly recommended

5.0 rating
September 22, 2020

Excellent tour. Highly recommended. Rene is hugely knowledgeable, erudite and gifted with impressive language skills. He has lived in Venice for decades so his knowledge is imparted with passion and dedication to the subject.

Olliver

Great experience to understand Venice

5.0 rating
September 21, 2020

Great experience to understand Venice in a way the guide books don’t tell you. I booked on the wrong day and Rene was very lovely in coming as soon as he heard. Great trip.

Lise

Wirklich ein tolles Erlebnis! Sehr Empfehlenswert!!

5.0 rating
September 20, 2020

Wirklich ein tolles Erlebnis! Sehr Empfehlenswert!!

Iris

This was such an amazing tour

5.0 rating
September 15, 2020

This was such an amazing tour. Rene pretty much knows everything and anything about Venice, any questions we had he answered in great detail and was just a generally amazing tour guide. This made our last day in Venice so special, please do this tour and be as amazed as we were! From Finn & Sophie

Finn

Magnificent experience

5.0 rating
September 14, 2020

We’ve been several times in Venice, but with Rene we saw and understood the hidden history and had a magnificent and individual experience, which was worth every penny. Our three hour tour was both exciting and interesting and went over in no time. Rene has an incredible knowledge about history in general and especially of Venetian history. He may not just answer ‘every’ question by telling dates and facts; instead he’ll start showing a salty stone or a hidden graffiti and explaining from there on links between history and today.

Felix

This is a great tour to learn how to ‘read’ the city

4.0 rating
September 14, 2020

This is a great tour to learn how to ‘read’ the city: understand the buildings, the squares, the layout of the neighbourhoods and so on. Great to do when you first arrive so you can apply those skills during the rest of the trip!

Erin

We really enjoyed the historic tour with you

5.0 rating
September 11, 2020

Hello René, We really enjoyed the historic tour with you. It is impressing how much you know about the history and how much passion you have for the themes . We liked mostly that you not only told but rather really showed us how much the change of time is visible in all the different buildings of the city. Thank you and best regards Nina and Timm

Timm

René’s tour is great

5.0 rating
September 7, 2020

René’s tour is great! I would highly recommend it to anyone who is a history buff, or just wants to know more about the city and get a better sense of it. He has a great storytelling style and the walk is peppered with personal anecdotes that show his attachment and belonging to Venice. I left feeling that i was more connected to the city and am recommending this walk to everyone i know for when they go to Venice. If René does any other experiences I will definitely sign up for them when in Venice!

A

We absolutely recommend this tour

5.0 rating
August 29, 2020

We absolutely recommend this tour. We learned so much about the history of Venedig by looking at wonderful small details we would have never seen on our own! Wonderful guide with loads of stories and love for this city.

Alice

It was a unique experience

5.0 rating
August 16, 2020

It was a unique experience – Rene always had the answers to our many questions of Venice’s history. We walked through places we would’ve never gone on our own, and we saw the city through the lenses of a passionate observer.

Paúl