Categories
Hidden history

Hidden history – reviews

All the reviews for the Hidden History in plain sight tour.

Reviews for the Hidden History in plain sight walk.

Thank you Professor Rene

Rated 5 out of 5
June 19, 2022

Super interesting walking tour of Venice with a small group. Rene knows his subject like no other tour guide we have ever come across. University level knowledge of history of Venice, mixed with some specific insights into the hidden history. It is not a tour of all Venice rather a detailed insight of a very specific area. The “professor” is a unique somewhat intellectual experience.

David

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 19, 2022

Great value! Rene was wonderful and very imformative!

Sonya

My history buff family loved the tour!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 19, 2022

Renee was very knowledgeable about the history of Venice. He asked us where we were from and that was his point of reference for the history and relationship we have with Venice. My history buff family loved the tour! This tour is for people that want to know about real history, not the water down version. I felt like we were in University learning from a professor!!”

Amie

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
June 19, 2022

Super knowledgeable guide with a totally underrated tour of the city!

Caroline

Thank you so much Rene!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 17, 2022

The most knowledgable historian in Venice! I had a great time walking around the squares with Rene, he is incredibly insightful and was able to show me a side to Venice very few get to see.

Jacob

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 16, 2022

Really nice walk in the neighborhood where I normally stay that let me appreciate the details of the city so much more. I learned a lot!”

Sara

We loved how passionate you were about the history of Venice and we learnt a lot of interesting things

Rated 4 out of 5
June 13, 2022

It was fun seeing Venice through the eyes of such a passionate historian. René basically knows a story to every street corner and points out things you could’ve easily overlooked 😉 Thank you! We recommend!

Juliet

Well worth it.

Rated 5 out of 5
June 12, 2022

We really enjoyed the tour. Rene was very passionate and knew a lot about the history of Venice. He pointed out so many interesting facts which we had missed before when just walking through the streets on our own. Well worth it.

Kerstin

Thank you Rene!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 12, 2022

Rene was very knowledgeable about the history of Venice and I learnt a great deal. I was the only person on the tour and he was very generous with his time.

Vicki

René’s tour was amazing!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 29, 2022

René’s tour was amazing! As a historian, he has a huge depth of knowledge of the history of the city, and showed us the incredible evolution of the architecture and layout of the city over the centuries. He was super open to our questions and filled in a lot of gaps of our understanding of the city. If you were ever curious about anything regarding Venice, book this experience!

Langston

It exceeded our expectations!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 4, 2022

Rene is incredibly knowledgeable. His stories made the city come to life. We learned so much and feel like we can now walk the streets of Venice with a deeper insight and appreciation.

Suzanne

We enjoyed the tour very much and learned a lot!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 2, 2022

If you are interested in history, and the reasons for special historical events and relations between architecture and society, he is the right guide! We really enjoyed the tour!

Dieter

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
April 30, 2022

Excellent guide. Very knowledgeable. He knows everything.

Hector

Thank you for a wonderful tour!!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 26, 2022

We could have walked with Rene for hours! His knowledge of Venice is impressive. He held both our attention and our son’s attention for the entire walk. Learning about the daily life in Venice from years past was very interesting for us and allowed us to notice other hidden history as we walked the streets on our own the following days.

Shelby

The history and story telling from Rene was fantastic.

Rated 5 out of 5
April 20, 2022

The knowledge shared is a great supplement after visiting The Doge’s Palace and other locations.

Joy

Thank you for such a super tour!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 19, 2022

What a fantastic tour. Rene is a historian by education and his wealth of knowledge went far beyond anything you may have learned on other tours or before arriving. The tour enhanced the rest of our trip as we were able to notice things around us that we wouldn’t have otherwise seen – including centuries old grafitti! He even kindly went over the allotted time as we were enjoying it so much. I highly recommend – it was one of our favourite parts of our trip to Venice.

Lucy

Fantastic tour by René

Rated 5 out of 5
April 19, 2022

We looked at Venice completely differently afterwards and could see so much more in plain sight. René is extremely knowledgable and engaging.

Jorel

It was just fantastic

Rated 5 out of 5
April 19, 2022

What a great start to the day, in a quiet part of Venice that we would never normally go to. The storytelling was excellent the history is amazing and you come to understand so much more about the city and the origins and what peoples lives were like back when Venice was built. He presents a vivid picture to imagine the thoughts and daily life of that time. Excellent highly recommend

Dianne

There was a lot to show

Rated 5 out of 5
April 19, 2022

If you like history and want to see the small details hidden all around the corners and alleyways, you will enjoy it. There was a lot to show. If René goes too deep on one topic, press on, he has so much to show, there is no need spend his time on things you already know. The walk did not seem rigid and René can adapt or so it seems.

Tomáš

Thank you so much for the informative walk.

Rated 5 out of 5
April 19, 2022

René clearly loves history and knows the city very well. He puts a lot of enthusiasm and feeling into his narrative. We felt like we will enjoy our time in Venice more now that we know what we are looking at! Book this walk early in your stay.

Virinia

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
March 27, 2022

Thanks Rene for sharing so much detail about Venice! Jam-packed with information in just two hours.

Curren

I highly recommend this tour

Rated 5 out of 5
March 27, 2022

Rene is super knowledgeable in general history and local history. He helps connect the dots between what you see in Venice reason for being which is an amazing story and combines this with local anecdotes and special insights and observations. I highly recommend this tour when you first arrive Venice, this will give you a great overview to understand where you just arrived and will help you better observe what you see and experience.

Shai

Very interesting tour.

Rated 5 out of 5
March 27, 2022

Recommend it if you want to learn more about history of Venice . Rene is very knowledgeable and he’s an excellent storyteller.

Ella

I highly recommend this tour

Rated 5 out of 5
March 14, 2022

My husband and I learned so much about the Venetian history from René. Each building tells a story and this tour allowed us to appreciate the details around the city. I highly recommend this tour for anyone who’s looking to dive into the city’s past!

Fanny

Thank you

Rated 5 out of 5
March 11, 2022

Very knowledgeable historian

Greg

We learned so much

Rated 5 out of 5
March 11, 2022

Rene is so knowledgable! He went above and beyond to show us the real Venice and to answer our many questions. He also did a wonderful job keeping my husband and I engaged, despite our very different historical interest levels. This is a fantastic glimpse into what makes Venice so special!

Chrissy

That was a fantastic tour!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 4, 2022

That was a fantastic tour! René talked a lot about architecture, history and culture in Venice through the times, as well as modern life. That’s definitely an amazing experience!

Elena

Excellent trip

Rated 5 out of 5
March 4, 2022

Excellent trip, René is a very knowledgeable and polite man. i highly recommend!”

Monika

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
March 4, 2022

Intresting tour about a part of Venice that not so many people visit.

Lisen

The experience goes beyond what initially meets the eye

Rated 5 out of 5
February 19, 2022

René isn’t just knowledgeable but also truly passionate about Venice and its rich history. The experience goes beyond what initially meets the eye where René adds layers by comparing the various times in the past.

Anders

Rene was a great tour guide.

Rated 5 out of 5
February 18, 2022

He was full of cool information about Venice. It was obvious he enjoys leading the tours. He was also happy to answer questions.

Deanna

We really enjoyed the experience

Rated 5 out of 5
February 17, 2022

This was a brilliant experience! Rene was so knowledgeable and passionate about his subject. He made the stones come alive and took us through the history of the city with many entertaining stories along the way! We were also very lucky to have him to ourselves. Thank you Rene!”

Susan

We all had a great time

Rated 5 out of 5
February 17, 2022

Rene is a well of knowledge and a fantastic storyteller. We all had a great time and learned so much.

Lionel

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
January 27, 2022

Ottima esperienza. Abbiamo visto cose molto interessanti e nascoste.

Patrizia

Very informative

Rated 5 out of 5
January 22, 2022

Very informative! René could easily be a university professor!

Andrew

Good tour

Rated 5 out of 5
January 18, 2022

Good tour for a slow-paced introduction to parts of Venetian history

Alexandr

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
January 7, 2022

A good tour for anyone interested in the general history of the city. René has a profound and vast knowledge and knows every corner of Castello!

Carin

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
January 3, 2022

Very interesting content, René truly knows what he’s talking about and is able to answer all the questions that might come up. However – but that might just have been the tour I was on – we stayed in the first Campo where our meeting point was, for most of the time. While the facts and stories we listened to were super interesting, it did become a bit uncomfortable to stand in one place for such a long time in cold weather.”

Katerina

Thank you so much

Rated 5 out of 5
January 3, 2022

We had the tour as an introduction to Venice in our first day in the city. It was super interesting. René is very knowledgeable about Venice’s history. I very much recommend it!

Ana

Thank you

Rated 5 out of 5
December 26, 2021

René was not only so knowledgeable about Venice’s history but very personable and authentic!

Rose

Rene was an excellent guide

Rated 5 out of 5
December 22, 2021

Rene was an excellent guide and gave a very clear description of Venice from a historical and structural point of view. Thoughtful and he clearly enjoyed sharing his extensive knowledge base.

Sunil

This was a great way to kick off our stay here

Rated 5 out of 5
December 21, 2021

Rene is a wealth of knowledge! We learned so much about the history of Venice, infrastructure, governance- any question we had Rene answered for us, with stories and anecdotes that will stick with us forever. This was a great way to kick off our stay here. Thank you Rene!

Claire

Rene is very knowledgeable

Rated 5 out of 5
December 21, 2021

Rene is very knowledgeable and know a lot about the history of Venice. He is also very passionate about what he knows. Thank you for a wonderful lesson 🙂

Kelly

Great experience

Rated 5 out of 5
December 20, 2021

Great experience with a lot of great “behind the scenes” stories of Venice.

Sarah

Grazie mille per la grande preparazione e passione che ci ha trasmesso

Rated 5 out of 5
December 19, 2021

È stata una bellissima esperienza per entrare nella storia di questa città unica e meravigliosa. Abbiamo potuto capire e conoscere tanti aspetti che normalmente sfuggono, tanti dettagli che nascondono pezzi di storia, e fare inaspettati collegamenti con l’arte, la vita quotidiana e le particolarità di Venezia

Sara

Thank you so much for taking the extra time with us!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 12, 2021

René was a brilliant tour guide. He knows so much about every corner of Venice, covering info you won’t find in guide books. His knowledge of the history of both the city and the region added so much to our experience. Thank you so much René! Would highly recommend the tour to anyone visiting Venice.

Zara

René is full of interesting knowledge

Rated 5 out of 5
December 9, 2021

René is full of interesting knowledge and was very passionate about sharing it with us. He is a human encyclopedia and adapted the tour to our special interests. We would highly recommend booking a tour with him!

Charlotte

Definitely recommend!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 9, 2021

Excellent tour. Great communication, very, very interesting. Definitely recommend!

Horatio

Thanks for a fantastic experience

Rated 5 out of 5
December 9, 2021

Rene is certainly passionate and knowledgeable about the subject. Quite a unique tour. Even my teenagers found it rather illuminating.

Elaine

Rene is incredible knowledgeable

Rated 5 out of 5
December 1, 2021

Rene is incredible knowledgeable about history in common and Venice in particular! he knows a lot about The history but also how it is to live in a city that is so special! ask questions and you will get tons of answers and he is someone who won‘t stop after the time is over, when he has time he will go on telling you stories about things you probably would not notice. we have done another typical tourist tour which wasn‘t good at all, so we can only recommend this kind of tours, if you are interested to hear something off the beaten path and where you don‘t have the feeling to being ripped off.

Jörg